Women in Horror Month 2016 – Featured Author: Magenta Nero @Magenta_Nero #WiHM7

Magenta Nero

Author_MagentaNero

 

I never intended to become a horror writer but whenever I put pen to paper, chaos ensues. I’m not your typical horror chick, actually I hate horror movies. The horror of the everyday fascinates me, the grueling  bewilderment of modern life, the personal and private horrors we all know too well. I like to peel back layers of skin and let unspeakable truths run free.

My fiction and poetry is also greatly inspired by myth, magic, mysticism and madness, there are many worlds to write about. I enjoy writing and weaving together different genres; Gothic horror, fantasy and erotica.

My work has been published in The Sirens Call eZine, Sanitarium Magazine and in over fifteen anthologies from James Ward Kirk Fiction and J.Ellington Ashton Press. Recent releases include “Lovecraft After Dark” (James Ward Kirk Fiction) and “Fearotica” (J.Ellington Ashton Press).

I also write for Pen of the Damned, a group of writers sworn to their suffering. We offer fresh and free horror fiction each week on our site penofthedamned.com.

This year I will be working on putting together a collection of short stories and poems, and beginning a novella.

I’m a nomad at heart, hailing from the harsh mountains of Southern Italy. I have traveled a lot and lived in the U.K. and Japan. Currently I reside in the sub tropical bushland of the Northern Rivers, Australia, with my partner and children. When I’m not writing I’m usually in my art studio making something, or I’m wandering the wilderness, conjuring mischief.

You can find Magenta and her work in the following places:

Blog: www.magentanero.wordpress.com
Facebook: www.facebook.com/magentaneroauthor
Twitter : @Magenta_Nero
Amazon author page: http://www.amazon.com/Magenta-Nero/e/B00VWG60VO

reaper_separator

Featured Books & Writing:

Fearotica: An Anthology of Erotic Horror

MagentaNero_FearoticaFearotica is an anthology of dark romance/erotic horror with the theme of forbidden love. Here you will find stories that explore neglected and largely uncharted terrain, places where sex and love are tangled with blood and viscera. Monster and man united in the throws of an otherworldly passion that has the same ability to destroy as it might also have to create. Who is the monster and what is the monstrous? Look within. From the minds of, Donald Armfield, William Bove, Ts Woolard, Valentina Lovecraft, Christopher Goose, Brian Barr, Brianna Stoddard, Essel Pratt, Peggy Christie, Christina Engela, Ivy Sinclair, Todd Misura, Amanda M. Lyons, and Magenta Nero.

Available on Amazon


Lovecraft after Dark

MagentaNero_LovecraftAfterDark“Lovecraft After Dark,” a is new collection of erotic horror from JWK Fiction, edited by James Ward Kirk and Roger Cowin. We offer short fiction and poetry blending erotica with the Mythos. Erotic encounters, forbidden romances between humans and the gods and demons of Lovecraft’s world. Ever wonder what obscene romance produced the human / elder god hybrid, Wilbur Whateley? How did the Black Goat of the Wood come to have a thousand young? These are just a few of the ideas explored in “Lovecraft After Dark.” Explore what Lovecraft only hinted at. Let your imagination go wild. We did.

Available on Amazon


Protégé on Pen of the Damned

PenOfTheDamned_RedefiningHorror_bannerThe front gates of your fortress are tall, ornate and heavily guarded, much like I imagine the gates of Heaven to be. I easily make it through security when they realize who I am. Your protégé has returned at last. I walk slowly up the long winding road admiring the impeccable and wonderful gardens that surround your mansion.

On the marble steps of the entrance I stand like a crucified god, both arms outstretched as your bodyguards search me, and I smile at the irony. I step into the great hall where a devotee bows to me then requests that I remove my shoes. I am given a white robe and led into a change room. I have not worn the robe for so long that I feel and look like another person. I glance at my reflection for a long time, the memories swell and churn. I lived many years in your ashram. I let the memories come and go. I feel nothing.

When I emerge from the change room the devotee bows to me again.

“The Guru is expecting you. He is most pleased that you have come,” purrs the man with a polite smile. He gestures, inviting me to proceed.

Read the remainder for Magenta’s story on Pen of the Damned

reaper_separator

WiHM2016_logo

 

About Nina D'Arcangela

Nina D’Arcangela is a quirky horror writer who likes to spin soul rending snippets of despair. She reads anything from splatter matter to dark matter. She's an UrbEx adventurer who suffers from unquenchable wanderlust. She loves to photograph abandoned places, bits of decay and old graveyards. Nina is co-owner of Sirens Call Publications, co-founder of the horror writer's group 'Pen of the Damned', and if that isn't enough, put a check mark in the box next to owner and resident nut-job of Dark Angel Photography.
This entry was posted in Authors, Horror, Pen of the Damned, Women in Horror Month and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Women in Horror Month 2016 – Featured Author: Magenta Nero @Magenta_Nero #WiHM7

  1. Magenta Nero says:

    Reblogged this on Magenta Nero and commented:
    Nina D’Arcangela has been very busy featuring an author each day for Women In Horror Month 2016, I’m proud to be one of them! Thank you Nina and hooray for Women in Horror 🙂

  2. Steve says:

    A lovely lady and a brilliant writer, I hold her high esteem!

  3. adeleulnais says:

    Congratulations Magenta Love your work which i read regularly on Pen of Dammed

Leave a Reply

