Women in Horror Month 2016 – Featured Author: Peggy Christie @PMonkey #WiHM7

Peggy Christie

Author_Peggy_Christie

Hello everyone. I’m Peggy Christie and I’m addicted to horror.

*Hi, Peggy*

I’ve been watching horror movies and television since I was a kid. Every Saturday afternoon I would tune in to Creature Feature with Sir Graves Ghastly. Here I was introduced to one of my first loves, Vincent Price (yes, I had a few – Patrick in kindergarten, Davy Jones from the Monkees, and Dracula from…everything). This tall, velvet voiced man brought horror to life for me, either as a tortured soul or a psycho who reveled in the torture of others.

In 6th grade I was introduced to Creative Writing. It was my first real opportunity to build my own world of horror. And what I made…was terrible. I basically wrote two ‘murder mysteries’ where I killed off all my classmates in the most horrific and gruesome ways I could fathom. It shouldn’t have come as a surprise when my teacher forbade me from writing “those kinds of things” anymore.

As I respected all forms of authority back then, I did what I was told. But since those were the kinds of things I wanted to create, I simply stopped writing all together.

Fast forward 19 years to a particularly terrible day at work. I don’t know what made me think writing would be a better form of therapy than putting laxatives in my boss’s coffee but that’s exactly what I did. By the end of the day I had a written a short story about a jerk-off manager who accidentally kills his secretary, covers it up, and she comes back to haunt him. Not particularly original but they say write what you know.

(I should probably clarify that I was a secretary at the time and my boss was an ass hat that day)

The rest is history. Once I rediscovered my love of writing, I couldn’t stop. I knew there were more people out there, outside of repressed 6th grade teachers with bugs up their backsides, who loved horror as much as I did. Slowly but surely I built my collection of stories and publishing credits. True, I’ve had a hell of a lot more rejections than acceptances but those just encourage me to keep on keepin’ on.

And it looks like 2016 is going to be a banner year for me. Source Point Press will be publishing my vampire novel and Dragons Roost Press will be rereleasing an anthology of mine from 2013 – with two new stories (I hope)! I’ll be posting updates on my website as they develop. In the meantime, feel free to hit up any of the links below to check out my website, my work, or say hello!

You can find Peggy and her work at the following places:

Website: www.themonkeyisin.com
Facebook: www.facebook.com/authorpeggychristie
Twitter: www.twitter.com/PMonkey
Amazon Author Page: Peggy Christie

reaper_separator

Featured Works:

Fearotica: An Anthology of Erotic Horror

PeggyChristie_FearoticaFearotica is an anthology of dark romance/erotic horror with the theme of forbidden love. Here you will find stories that explore neglected and largely uncharted terrain, places where sex and love are tangled with blood and viscera. Monster and man united in the throws of an otherworldly passion that has the same ability to destroy as it might also have to create. Who is the monster and what is the monstrous? Look within. From the minds of, Donald Armfield, William Bove, Ts Woolard, Valentina Lovecraft, Christopher Goose, Brian Barr, Brianna Stoddard, Essel Pratt, Peggie Christie, Ivy Sinclair, Todd Misura, Amanda M. Lyons, Christina Engela, and Magenta Nero.

Available on Amazon

line

PeggyChristie_ErieTalesErie Tales VIII: Holiday Horror

There are holidays for everything – celebrations of birth, togetherness, loss, and victory. They mark the change of the seasons and the time spent apart from loved ones.

In this our 8th offering, Erie Tales takes note of 8 holidays, adding our own distinctive brand to the revered and forgotten, the hailed and the hidden.

Decorate your sacrifices, hang your trees, lay out your spread – the Holidays are coming, and they are hungry.

Available on Createspace

line

PeggyChristie_ViciousVersesVicious Verses and Reanimated Rhymes

The dead rise. The world dies. Mankind falls and enters Death’s halls.

Over 90 poems of carnage, hopelessness and despair mixed with oodles of the living dead await you. Featuring poems by W. Bill Czolgosz, Paul A. Freeman, Keith Gouveia, J.H. Hobson, Rich Ristow, Lester Smith, Steve Vernon, Zed Zefram, Zombie Zak and many others, Vicious Verses and Reanimated Rhymes will not only melt your brain . . . it’ll tear out your jugular!

Available on Amazon

reaper_separator

WiHM2016_logo

About Nina D'Arcangela

Nina D’Arcangela is a quirky horror writer who likes to spin soul rending snippets of despair. She reads anything from splatter matter to dark matter. She's an UrbEx adventurer who suffers from unquenchable wanderlust. She loves to photograph abandoned places, bits of decay and old graveyards. Nina is co-owner of Sirens Call Publications, co-founder of the horror writer's group 'Pen of the Damned', and if that isn't enough, put a check mark in the box next to owner and resident nut-job of Dark Angel Photography.
This entry was posted in Authors, Horror, Uncategorized, Women in Horror Month and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Women in Horror Month 2016 – Featured Author: Peggy Christie @PMonkey #WiHM7

  1. adeleulnais says:

    Peggy sounds like a kindred sister. Great interview.

  2. Karen Soutar says:

    Ha, your backstory really resonates with me, especially the teacher’s comments! Great piece.

Leave a Reply

