WiHM2017 Write Her Story – #Horror #author Mary Ann Peden-Coviello @MAPedenCoviello @Sotet_Angyal #WiHM8 @WiHMonth

Write Her Story

wihm_2017_03

How Do I Love Thee
by Mary Ann Peden-Coviello

The wine is delicious and warms my heart. I watch you while you sleep, as I sip my red, red wine. Maybe there’s no kick in Champagne, but there’s surely a glow in my Bordeaux.
You’re a lovely thing, long and lean. I do love red-haired men. Pale skin, flushing with the rush of blood.  I lean closer and listen to your breathing, deep and steady, your heartbeat strong. The pulse in your throat mesmerizes me with its rhythm.
I drain the last of the wine, set the glass on the bedside table, turn back to you. You’re stirring in your sleep, lips curving into a smile. I always like to leave a man happy. Well, at least for a while. I skim my fingers down your chest. Time to wake up.
Your eyelids flutter, and your green eyes snap into focus. “Hey, baby. That was . . . amazing.”
“You’re a splendid lover,” I purr. I curl into your arms and flicker kisses down your throat, ending at the pulse at the base. I circle that living throb with the tip of my tongue, and you groan and arch your neck.
Just the right angle. Perfect.
My lips attach to your throat, and I breath your essence – your very soul – from your body to mine. You fight, arms flailing, hips bucking, but this ends as it must, your heels kicking a rapid tattoo against the mattress.
I roll away without a backward glance. Once — thousands of years ago, as humans count time — I looked. Never again. The wreckage left behind after a succubus takes a soul is disturbing, even for a denizen of Hell.
Dawn breaks and with it my time here is over again. With a sigh, I return to Hell.

 

Fiction © Copyright Mary Ann Peden-Coviello
Image courtesy of Pixabay.com Artist: Jonny Linder

line_separator2

More from Mary Ann Peden-Coviello:

maryannpedencoviello_frightmareFright Mare-Women Write Horror
Short Story: One Hour Before the Dark

Women write horror and have written it since before Mary Shelley wrote FRANKENSTEIN. This anthology is to highlight the fact women write great horror and to kill the fallacy that they aren’t in some way up to standard. They are. Read here stories by Elizabeth Massie, Nina Kiriki Hoffman, Lucy Taylor, and a plethora of other great writers as they work on your nerves, get inside your head, and bang out some of the scariest tales written today. I’m proud to present these women for your consideration, as Rod Serling might say, as I ask you to step into FRIGHT MARE. Lock the door and windows, put on a light, and remember, it’s not real. It’s not real. Midnight awaits, monsters scheme to take you away, the strange and weird wait in the shadows, but it’s not real. Is it?

Edited by Billie Sue Mosiman, the author who brought you the SINISTER-TALES OF DREAD collections and her latest suspense novel, THE GREY MATTER.

Available on Amazon!

line_separator2

wihm8_logo

Stop by my other blogs for more Women in Horror Month content!
Sotet Angyal, The Dark Angel – Dark emotive flash fiction written by me.
The Road to Nowhere – Horror movie picks staring strong leading ladies.

And don’t forget to visit the Women in Horror Month official web site
for more great 
WiHM8 events and posts!

About Nina D'Arcangela

Nina D’Arcangela is a quirky horror writer who likes to spin soul rending snippets of despair. She reads anything from splatter matter to dark matter. She's an UrbEx adventurer who suffers from unquenchable wanderlust. She loves to photograph abandoned places, bits of decay and old graveyards. Nina is co-owner of Sirens Call Publications, co-founder of the horror writer's group 'Pen of the Damned', and if that isn't enough, put a check mark in the box next to owner and resident nut-job of Dark Angel Photography.
This entry was posted in Authors, Dark Fiction, flash fiction, Horror, Women in Horror Month and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to WiHM2017 Write Her Story – #Horror #author Mary Ann Peden-Coviello @MAPedenCoviello @Sotet_Angyal #WiHM8 @WiHMonth

  1. afstewart says:

    Wonderful.

Leave a Reply

