WiHM2017 Write Her Story – #Horror #author Veronica Magenta Nero @VM_Nero @Sotet_Angyal #WiHM8 @WiHMonth

Write Her Story

wihm_2017_04

Hell’s Daughter
by Veronica Magenta Nero

A girl becomes the image of her mother, a child fulfills the heritage carried in blood.
My mother used to tell me that each fizzle through the dark sky was another fallen angel coming to join us. It was not hell in those days but perhaps it is now.
I remember sitting beside her on the ragged cliffs, her knee long hair flicking around her like a dark cloak, her face hidden from me so I could never guess what she was thinking or feeling as she stared into the horizon. Lightning struck in the distance, thunder growled, she weathered a storm inside herself she would not speak of to me. I tried to pull closer to her, reaching to hold her thin claws, but her coldness was a veil I couldn’t part.
She was banished here, that much I know. And when she left she damned me to her own fate.
She found a way to escape. Ghoulish wraiths, grinning specters, responded to her calls and pleas. She merged and mated with them, they reduced her to smoke, to nothing, and she was gone.
I don’t wait for her to return to me. I don’t wait for her embrace. I wait for the moment when she can no longer deny or ignore her legacy.
They continue to fall around me, hundreds arriving every night, crashing and burning. The heartbroken, the diseased, the murderous and vengeful. A soldier slain in battle stumbles forward, a traitor without honour, a heavy sword wedged in his side. A young woman sobs, she has taken her own life, her neck is crimped with a deep red line. She mourns, regretful and angry. An old woman, withered skin hanging off her frame, white eyes wild and hair of floss, sings child like rhymes, delirious with madness.
They look to me as if I am their goddess, their guide in death. I offer them no guidance or comfort. I can only give them what was given to me – indifference. But I do offer one mercy – a home, a place to be with their eternal suffering. I share with them this land I have inherited, an endless desert, cracked dry and barren like my never bleeding womb.
Fiction © Copyright Veronica Magenta Nero
Image courtesy of Pixabay.com Artist: Mystic Art Design

line_separator2

More from Veronica Magenta Nero:

Veronica has chosen to share her blog with us. If you’d like to read more of her writing, there is a featured section for both Published Work and Free Fiction. Please enjoy her distinctively enthralling style of prose!

vmnero_blog

Veronica’s blog (vmnero.wordpress.com)

Veronica is also a contributing member of Pen of the Damned. You can find her on Facebook at Veronica Magenta Nero, or Twitter as @VM_Nero

line_separator2

wihm8_logo

Stop by my other blogs for more Women in Horror Month content!
Sotet Angyal, The Dark Angel – Dark emotive flash fiction written by me.
The Road to Nowhere – Horror movie picks staring strong leading ladies.

And don’t forget to visit the Women in Horror Month official web site
for more great 
WiHM8 events and posts!

About Nina D'Arcangela

Nina D’Arcangela is a quirky horror writer who likes to spin soul rending snippets of despair. She reads anything from splatter matter to dark matter. She's an UrbEx adventurer who suffers from unquenchable wanderlust. She loves to photograph abandoned places, bits of decay and old graveyards. Nina is co-owner of Sirens Call Publications, co-founder of the horror writer's group 'Pen of the Damned', and if that isn't enough, put a check mark in the box next to owner and resident nut-job of Dark Angel Photography.
This entry was posted in Authors, Dark Fiction, flash fiction, Horror, Women in Horror Month and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to WiHM2017 Write Her Story – #Horror #author Veronica Magenta Nero @VM_Nero @Sotet_Angyal #WiHM8 @WiHMonth

  1. Pingback: WiHM2017 Write Her Story – #Horror #author Veronica Magenta Nero @VM_Nero @Sotet_Angyal #WiHM8 @WiHMonth | Fantasy Sources: Art, Gifts, Ideas, Article Resources, News

Leave a Reply

