WiHM2017 Write Her Story – #Horror #author Terri DelCampo @TerriDelCampo @Sotet_Angyal #WiHM8 @WiHMonth

Write Her Story

wihm_2017_02

SHADOW BOX
by Terri DelCampo

And there she sits on the edge of a crypt, jagged pieces of her sister and mother at her feet, after I have worked my artistry upon them.  Her doom (my triumph!) approaches: Police – and is that an actual slayer?
Only Mason appreciated my little masterpieces – shadowboxes, he dubbed them.
Paintings?  Sculptures?  Hah!  Far too pedestrian for the likes of me.
Mason sets my scene – holds her in his morbid embrace and coaxes her blood into his gut, vampire banality; correct?  But he doesn’t kill her. Just…almost. And then she is mine.
Mason lures a girl.
I lure her family – I give the desperate hope.  They scramble to meet me – offering themselves for the girl – no strings – no cops – no FBI. How can I refuse?
Just after Mason’s initial bite brings the girl to the brink of mortal death, I open a curtain before her, revealing her deepest fears – her loved ones suspended – shrieking marionettes…
…before being shaped into my art.
My palette – dull and blunted swords and battle axes – to prolong the pain of the dying, thus in turn prolonging the pain of the living.
She looks as though she’s just fed, does she not?  But alas, the only blood she swallowed was her own as I removed her tongue to a chorus of her gags, and nailed it to the back of her head.
There she sits, on the brink of death, hoping for it, but nay.
Her final torture is being captured, forced to commit her horrors to paper, and then of course, deemed completely mad, committed to some cell in some asylum.
While Mason hunts for the star of my next shadow box, miles (and decades) from the yellow tape of this one.
Fiction © Copyright Terri DelCampo
Image courtesy of Pixabay.com Artist: Enrique Meseguer

line_separator2

More from Terri DelCampo:

James Reborn

terridelcampo_jamesrebornWriter travels to mountain cabin,
Looking for a peaceful retreat.
On a quiet hike for thinking
A frightening sight her eyes did meet.

Young man imprisoned in a dog pen
Helpless to Pa’s sadistic whim.
Writer can’t believe the horror
And the injustice done to him.

She becomes involved in drama
More frightening than she’s ever known.
For James and Pa bring out her instincts
And sides of herself she’d never known.

Available on Amazon!

line_separator2

wihm8_logo

Stop by my other blogs for more Women in Horror Month content!
Sotet Angyal, The Dark Angel – Dark emotive flash fiction written by me.
The Road to Nowhere – Horror movie picks staring strong leading ladies.

And don’t forget to visit the Women in Horror Month official web site
for more great 
WiHM8 events and posts!

About Nina D'Arcangela

Nina D’Arcangela is a quirky horror writer who likes to spin soul rending snippets of despair. She reads anything from splatter matter to dark matter. She's an UrbEx adventurer who suffers from unquenchable wanderlust. She loves to photograph abandoned places, bits of decay and old graveyards. Nina is co-owner of Sirens Call Publications, co-founder of the horror writer's group 'Pen of the Damned', and if that isn't enough, put a check mark in the box next to owner and resident nut-job of Dark Angel Photography.
This entry was posted in Authors, Dark Fiction, flash fiction, Horror, Women in Horror Month and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to WiHM2017 Write Her Story – #Horror #author Terri DelCampo @TerriDelCampo @Sotet_Angyal #WiHM8 @WiHMonth

  1. blazemcrob says:

    My, my! This is a gritty bugger! I will have to keep a close eye on my wife.

Leave a Reply

