Ladies of Horror Flash Project – #Horror #author Ela Lourenco @ElaLourenco @Sotet_Angyal #LoH #fiction

The Ladies of Horror
Picture-Prompt Writing Challenge!

Silent Scream
by Ela Lourenco

My memories are hazy. Back when I was alive I counted the days – time seemed so important then. But, as days turned into months, and then years into decades it slowly began to feel irrelevant. The seconds ticked by slower but nothing changed. Each morning the pale sun rose and each night it plummeted back into the trees – night casting its seemingly eternal darkness once more.
I had a name once, a home, a life… I get images sometimes, blurry snapshots of what came before. I wonder how much of it was mine, was real – how much are imaginings of my mind. Was I blonde, brunette? Did I have a family? Did anyone look for me? I think I used to know, but there is an obsidian hole in my mind – the moment I think I remember the memories slip away.
One thing I can recall though. No matter how much time passes, no matter how the world around me changes – I remember the sharp bite of the knife into my stomach. I can still feel the damp cold earth filling my lungs, my fingers torn and bleeding as I tried to claw my way out from under this tree – the burn in my throat as I drew my last breath.
Fiction © Copyright Ela Lourenco
Image courtesy of Pixabay.com

line_separator2

More from Ela Lourenco:

Essence

Katra is a Fae Hunter in a world once ravaged by a terrible war. Having lost all memory of her childhood and rightful identity, her duty is now to protect the tentative peace brokered by the varying races of the supernatural world. When an evil darkness begins to spread, draining young witches of their power, Katra must find a way back to her true past in order to save the future.

Enduring many trials as ever-increasing powers awaken within her, Katra must also struggle with the mixed emotions her new partner, Blade – a Black Dragon – is rousing within her. Together they must battle the shadows that plan to devour the world they know and prevent its decent into another thousand-year war.

Can Katra hold onto her strength as the truth of her very being begins to unravel? Can she bear the weight that ancient prophecy has placed on her young shoulders? Or is her destiny to regain her true self, only to lose the world she is sworn to protect?

Available on Amazon!

line_separator2

About Nina D'Arcangela

Nina D’Arcangela is a quirky horror writer who likes to spin soul rending snippets of despair. She reads anything from splatter matter to dark matter. She's an UrbEx adventurer who suffers from unquenchable wanderlust. She loves to photograph abandoned places, bits of decay and old grave yards. Nina is a co-owner of Sirens Call Publications, a co-founder of the horror writer's group 'Pen of the Damned', founder and administrator of the Ladies of Horror Picture-prompt Monthly Writing Challenge, and if that isn't enough, put a check mark in the box next to owner and resident nut-job of Dark Angel Photography.
This entry was posted in Authors, Dark Fiction, flash fiction, FREE, Horror, Ladies of Horror, Writing Project and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ladies of Horror Flash Project – #Horror #author Ela Lourenco @ElaLourenco @Sotet_Angyal #LoH #fiction

  1. miss my favorite dark angel!!!

  2. afstewart says:

    Wonderfully, disturbingly creepy.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.