Ladies of Horror Flash Project – #Horror #author Tawny Kipphorn @Sotet_Angyal #LoH #fiction

The Ladies of Horror
Picture-Prompt Writing Challenge!

Awakening
by Tawny Kipphorn

My memory of her fades more each time the storm passes through, leaving her ghostly essence behind in its wake. Every day she would gaze into the flames while mumbling something about an endless darkness, and although she was right in front of me, it was clear she was many miles away, far beyond where I could ever go. It was as if there were an invisible veil cocooning her, and try as anyone might, no one could break through its ethereal armor. That night, she wandered out as the rain poured down, making her way deep into the woods. I followed behind her, making sure to keep my distance. As I knelt down deep into the darkness, I watched in horror as her body contorted at different angles. A beaming light materialized from above and moved quickly into her, and an agonizing scream escaped her lips into the dead of night as she slumped down onto the wet earth. I looked around the pitch black woods as if somehow I could make sense of what I’d just seen, but when I glanced back in her direction, she was gone. As I began to walk towards where I’d just seen her, I felt a violent vibration travel up through my feet and into the rest of my body. A strong surge that brought me to my knees, and I cried tears of pain and happiness. It was in that moment that I realized I had not only just witnessed death, but rebirth as well. I walked away from the memory of her, the death of my former self. I walked into the new me, the one with the gift of third You sight. As I continue to linger between the realms, she has disappeared from my mind, but I always remember the darkness that stared back at me through the flames.
Fiction © Copyright Tawny Kipphorn
Image courtesy of Pixabay.com

line_separator2

More from Author Tawny Kipphorn:

A Shadow of Autumn

Fall—a season as beautiful as it is foreboding. A Shadow of Autumn takes you back to childhood nostalgia while peeling away the mask to reveal things that haunt your worst nightmares. Within these pages, you’ll find the usual denizens of the holiday—demons, witches, ghosts, and bloodsuckers—along with strange and unknown creatures lurking everywhere from innocuous cornfields and pumpkin patches to basement hatches and high school dances. These fourteen tales of fall magic and Halloween horrors will keep you looking over your shoulder long after the last light of October has waned. Don’t say we didn’t warn you…

Available on Amazon! 

line_separator2

About Nina D'Arcangela

Nina D’Arcangela is a quirky horror writer who likes to spin soul rending snippets of despair. She reads anything from splatter matter to dark matter. She's an UrbEx adventurer who suffers from unquenchable wanderlust. She loves to photograph abandoned places, bits of decay and old grave yards. Nina is a co-owner of Sirens Call Publications, a co-founder of the horror writer's group 'Pen of the Damned', founder and administrator of the Ladies of Horror Picture-prompt Monthly Writing Challenge, and if that isn't enough, put a check mark in the box next to owner and resident nut-job of Dark Angel Photography.
This entry was posted in Authors, Dark Fiction, flash fiction, FREE, Horror, Ladies of Horror, Writing Project and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ladies of Horror Flash Project – #Horror #author Tawny Kipphorn @Sotet_Angyal #LoH #fiction

  1. afstewart says:

    Dark and excellent.

  2. Pingback: Ladies of Horror for August | AngelaYSmith.com

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.