Ladies of Horror Flash Project – #Horror #author Sheri White @sheriw1965 @Sotet_Angyal #LoH #fiction

The Ladies of Horror
Picture-Prompt Writing Challenge!


A Dream of Humanity
by Sheri White

“Oh, it’s you. Why are you here?”
“You know why, Ravenna. It’s time to return home.”
“Oh, I don’t think so. Look at me – I’m stunning! Why would I want to return to being a mere bird?”
“You don’t have a choice, Ravenna. Your transformation was to last only a fortnite.”
“I don’t care, Bertram! I love being human. A man has fallen in love with me! This is my destiny. I know it is!”
“This is impossible. What does this man think of your wings? Humanity is not for our kind.”
“He has not seen my wings, Bertram; I have kept them cloaked. I’m sorry, but I will not return. If you remove my wings, I can begin my new life.”
“No, Ravenna. That cannot be done. You would regret it greatly.”
“You will regret not assisting me, Bertram! Remove my wings at once, then leave me be!”
“Very well.” Bertram shrieked and flapped his wings, summoning  the other ravens.
The birds slammed into Ravenna, knocking her face-down into the moss. With their sharp beaks, they ripped the shimmery white feathers from her flesh.
“Wait!” Ravenna screamed. “Not this way – please use your magic!” She writhed on the ground, struggling to escape the flock devouring her.
“I’m sorry, Ravenna. But this is the way it must be. If you survive, you may have your freedom. Good luck to you.”
Bertram flew away, soaring through the blood-stained feathers scattered in the air, Ravenna’s screams fading in the distance.
Fiction © Copyright Sheri White
Image courtesy of Pixabay.com

line_separator2

More from Author Sheri White:

Sacrificial Lambs and Others

Sacrificial Lambs and Others is Sheri White’s first collection. From quiet horror to bloody violence, these flash fiction pieces and short stories are chilling and emotionally visceral. You will find people teetering on the brink of sanity, dark farms, creepy carnivals, weird kids, and Armageddon. These stories will stay with you long after you’ve closed the book.

Available on Amazon!

 

line_separator2

About Nina D'Arcangela

Nina D’Arcangela is a quirky horror writer who likes to spin soul rending snippets of despair. She reads anything from splatter matter to dark matter. She's an UrbEx adventurer who suffers from unquenchable wanderlust. She loves to photograph abandoned places, bits of decay and old grave yards. Nina is a co-owner of Sirens Call Publications, a co-founder of the horror writer's group 'Pen of the Damned', founder and administrator of the Ladies of Horror Picture-prompt Monthly Writing Challenge, and if that isn't enough, put a check mark in the box next to owner and resident nut-job of Dark Angel Photography.
This entry was posted in Authors, Dark Fiction, flash fiction, FREE, Horror, Ladies of Horror, Writing Project and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Ladies of Horror Flash Project – #Horror #author Sheri White @sheriw1965 @Sotet_Angyal #LoH #fiction

  1. afstewart says:

    A great story, loved the ending.

  2. Marge Simon says:

    goes so well with this prompt, too!

  3. Sheri White says:

    Thank you both so much!

  4. Monica says:

    😮 Excellent, and a nice twist ending.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.